Team unity reaping rewards

Hastings Priory in the field during their victory over East Grinstead last weekend. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (SUS-140823-154945002)
Hastings Priory in the field during their victory over East Grinstead last weekend. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (SUS-140823-154945002)

Hastings Priory’s cricketers are now reaping the rewards for sticking together during a difficult Sussex Premier League campaign.

That’s the view of first team coach Ian Gillespie with Priory having pulled off back-to-back victories against Cuckfield and East Grinstead.

“Throughout the season we’ve stuck at it and we’ve stayed together,” Gillespie said. “There’s not been a culture of blaming each other and the effort’s been there throughout.

“We obviously went through a period where confidence and belief were very low, but I think because we’ve stuck at it, sooner or later you’re going to get the breaks. Confidence is definitely coming back, and we’re much more buoyant and purposeful in everything we’re doing.”

Bottom-of-the-table Priory are 50 points adrift of safety with two games left - away to Eastbourne tomorrow (Saturday) and then another derby at home to Bexhill next weekend.

“We’re capable of putting a run of wins together,” Gillespie added. “Having said that, we’re playing two very good sides. Eastbourne have had a fantastic season. We’ve got to make sure we do our basics right, show confidence and resilience, apply ourselves to our gameplan and do all we can to win the game.”


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier Division (11.30): Bexhill v East Grinstead; Eastbourne v Hastings Priory.

1st XI Division 2 (12): Crowhurst Park v St James’s Montefiore.

1st XI Division 4 (12): Hellingly v Rye.

2nd XI Division 1 (12): East Grinstead v Bexhill; Hastings Priory v Eastbourne.

2nd XI Division 3 (East) (12): Keymer & Hassocks v Crowhurst Park; Rye v Hellingly.

East Sussex Cricket League (1), Division 1: Iden v Heathfield Park.

Division 2: Battle v Laughton; Fletching v Robertsbridge.

Division 3: Little Common Ramblers v Chiddingly.

Division 4: Hailsham II v Bexhill III.

Division 5: Pett v St Peters II.

Division 6: Lewes St Michaels II v Hastings Priory III; Nutley v Iden II; Plumpton & East Chiltington II v Udimore.

Division 7: Hellingly III v Battle II; Robertsbridge II v Mayfield II.

Division 8: Bexhill IV v Seaford III; Uckfield Anderida II v Little Common Ramblers II.

Division 9: Glynde & Beddingham III v Sidley; Polegate & Stone Cross II v Pett II.

Division 10: Rye III v Ringmer III.

Division 11: Newhaven III v Little Common Ramblers III ; Seaford IV v Crowhurst Park IV; Willingdon III v Robertsbridge III.

Division 12: Heathfield Park III v Rye IV; Westfield v Bells Yew Green IV.