A dramatic awards show

Pollyanna Hollebon receives her award for Best Actress
Pollyanna Hollebon receives her award for Best Actress

Brighton & Hove Arts Council held its annual drama awards ceremony at BHASVIC, Dyke Road, Brighton, on the evening of Tuesday, December 10.

Brighton & Hove’s own ‘Oscars’ recognise the achievements of amateur theatre companies in the area.

Each year local theatre companies nominate a production from their autumn schedule and a qualified theatre professional attends each production to act as adjudicator.

This year, the role was given to Brighton-based actor Keith Drinkel, whose career on stage and television includes appearances in Coronation Street, Midsummer Murders and Dr Who.

Keith attended each production and decided who should receive the awards which include Best Overall Production, Best Director, Best Actor/Actress, Best Costumes and so on, with 15 categories in all.

The awards were formally presented at the Drama Awards evening. Local groups taking part this year included New Venture Theatre Club, Brighton, The Southwick Players, Wick Theatre Company, Burgess Hill Theatre Club, Lewes Little Theatre, Brighton Little Theatre, Rottingdean Dramatic Society and Ringmer Dramatic Society.

The winners:

Best Stage Set Design – Lewes Little Theatre; Best Costumes – Ringmer Dramatic Society; Best Stage Crew – New Venture Theatre Club; Best Sound Design – Wick Theatre Company; Best Lighting Design – New Venture Theatre Club; The Flower Award for Best Technical Achievement – The Southwick Players; Best Publicity – Sally Diver, Anita Jones; Michael Eyers, Paul Watts, Candy White, and Sharon Churchill of The Southwick Players for Animal Farm; The BHAC Chairman’s Award – Tony Bright, of The Southwick Players for Animal Farm; Best Supporting Actress – Meg Depla, Lake Lewes Little Theatre; Best Supporting Actor – Guy Steddon, Wick Theatre Company; Best Actress – Pollyanna Hollebon, Burgess Hill Theatre Club; Best Actor – Colin Elmer, New Venture Theatre Club; The Gabbus Denney Award for Best Director – John O’Connor, Burgess Hill Theatre Club; The Arthur Churchill Award for Excellence – Burgess Hill Theatre Club for A Streetcar Named Desire; Bea Waters Challenge Cup for Best Overall Production – Brighton Little Theatre for Loveplay