Gymnastics club celebrates successful year

FLIPITAS Gymnastics Club rounded off another successful year with their third Christmas display being performed in front of the Mayor and Mayoress of Worthing.

The club has seen an number of participants join in the last year pushing operational days to five days a week from three last year.

In October, 13 of the senior squad members attended a competition in Milton Keynes in which the club won two gold medals from Louis Davison and Georgia Cummins, two silver from Sacha Thompson and Nicholas Bryan and three bronze from Sophie Waller, Drew Hammersley and Lewis Dorman.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On December 1 at the vault regional championships Flipitas finished the competition with three regional champions, Luca Falletti, Oliver Claydon and Isabella Giggs and two bronze medallists, Matthew Clegg and Joe Thornton.

This year has also seen the introduction of the British Gymnastics Leadership Academy to the club.

The scheme was introduced to keep teenagers and young adults interested in the sport and is similar to a Duke of Edinburgh award where participants have to pass tasks to achieve certain levels.

All nine leadership members Megan Slade, Matthew Saunders, Alice Thom, Hannah Dunn-coleman, Lewis Dorman, Reece Kitchen, Kai Hammersley, Rhys Dunn and Bethany Horn have successfully passed their first aid qualifications this year and are all working towards completing their bronze level award. On December 13 and 14 the clubs members performed routines to their favourite movies.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The final performance was watched by Councillor Bob Smytherman and Councillor Norah Fisher.

The evening was rounded off with the presentation of most improved gymnasts of the year trophies.

Coaches nominated one gymnast from each class to receive this award with the winners meeting the mayor and having their picture taken with him.

The winners for recreational gymnastics were Camren Pragnell, Molly Hyde, Ruby Robinson, Sheyned Navas, Jack Blennerhassett, Owen Wood, Mia Britton, Roxy Piggott, Niamh Owen and Monty Metcalfe.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The runner up for most improved in the junior squad was Imogen Rosin with Felix Doe being crowned the winner.

Runner up in the teens squad went to Alysha Ensor with the winner being Alexis Luscombe.

The senior squad winners were Megan Slade as runner up and winner Nicholas Bryan.

The Jean Westwood Memorial Trophy was awarded to Reece Kitchen for outstanding attitude, determination and for providing encouragement to his peers and younger gymnasts.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Headcoach Pippa Couch said: “The team have been absolutely thrilled with the growth and success of the club this year.

“It was the icing of the cake for the Mayor and Mayoress to join them in their Christmas celebrations.

“I would like to say a personal thank you to the Mayor and Mayoress for making the celebration all the more special and would like to wish all club members a very merry Christmas and a happy and healthy 2014.”

Related topics: