Host of Bognor gold winners for Duke of Edinburgh awards

A golden haul of award winners has marked a Bognor Regis man's 25th anniversary with a national scheme.

The 24 recipients of the highest category achievable through the Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme was the most Nigel Lord could remember.

"I'm sure there have never been so many gold award winners before,"

he said.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"That shows how the scheme has grown and how it is increasing in importance.

"Those who achieve gold can spend anything from 12 months to three years undertaking the tasks they need to complete it. Most probably do it in two to three years.

"Those who gained gold this year were mostly sixth formers or have just started university or are on a gap year."

The activities needed to achieve gold include a residential stay, work with a community flavour and learning a skill, such as sports leadership.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Increasingly, the residential element takes place abroad. Namibia

and Sri Lanka were the destinations for two of this year's winners. Sailing on a tall ship is another favourite.

Mr Lord has been the DoE Award scheme co-ordinator for Arun

district since 1985.

He said that period had seen the young people who take part more willing to widen their horizons.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"They have become more adventurous. It's easier to do things now and there are certainly more opportunities to do them.

"They are also more confident. What is noticeable as well is that a wider spectrum of young people are now participating. It's not

just the academically-proficient as it sometimes used to be," he explained.

This year's award ceremony celebrated the achievements of 76 winners.

The special guest was Malcolm Nelms.

Individual award winners were:

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Gold award - Bognor Regis open award centre: Ben Archer, Lucy Archer, Alla Barford, Alice Bell, Robyn Denton, Michelle Erkiert, James Kirk, Francesca Satturley, Emily Wright, Susan Zwinkels. Littlehampton Community School: James Cooper, Jamie Greig, Nicholas Harris, Matthew Knight. St Philip Howard High School: Jack Beadle, John Colenutt, Alex Critchfield, Phillippe Harbord, Elizabeth James, Elizabeth Jeffery, Megan Penny, Emily Stewart, Lucy Willway.

Silver award - Angmering School: Frankie Ayling, Joe Fellows.

Bognor Regis open award centre: Ben Archer, Melissa Carrington, George Dyson, Edward Terry. Felpham Community College: Elena Stevens.

Littlehampton Community School: Sarah Cooper, Rachel Eberle, Ally James. St Philip Howard High School: Alex Field, Louisa Lane, Daniel Wilkins. Slindon College: Matthew Williams.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Bronze award - Angmering College: Lucy Cooper. Bognor Regis open award centre: Jack Dyson, Charlotte Page. Felpham Community College: Daniel Baker-Irons, Harriet Buckwell, Stephanie Diplock, Francesca Embleton, Mark Stevens, Gemma Yates. Littlehampton Community School: Timothy Pickering, Edward Swift, Janeave Tsarfaty. St Philip High School:

Rebecca Aldridge, Jasmine Barnes, Jessica Bone, Francesca Chambers, Emma Cousins, Nicola Edwards, Seana Gatehouse, Madeleine Hetherington, Katrina Holmes, Sophie Howells, Jonathan James, Simran Lander, Lucy Monteith, Stefanie Moore, Molly Morgan, Jessica Pilkington, Arthur

Schaeffer, Gregory Slater, Charlotte Stockdale, Julia Strudwick, Charlotte Timlick, George Williamson. Slindon College: James Barnes, Andrew McCartain, Matthew Robertson.

What do you think? Click here to send a letter or leave a comment below.

Click here to go back to Chichester news

Click here to go back to Bognor Regis news

Click here to go back to Midhurst and Petworth news

To tell us where in the world you are reading this story click on the link below to add yourself to our readers' map.