BREAKING: Eastbourne by-election results for Hampden Park

Here are the results of the by-elections in the Hampden Park ward of Eastbourne for Eastbourne Borough Council.

Candidate Josh Babarinde retained the seat in Hampden Park for the Liberal Democrats.

The seat had been left vacant by the departure of Liberal Democrat Dean Sabri, who stepped down earlier this year due to work commitments.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

The results were announced at 5.25pm on social media from the Winter Garden where the count took place after polling stations closed.

Winter Garden Eastbourne during the 2021 election count. SUS-210705-154914001

Mr Babarinde won 1,080 votes. Luke Edward Borland (Conservatives) won 857 votes, Margaret Elizabeth Robinson (Labour) won 418 votes.

The turnout for the Hampden Park ward was 30.44 per cent.

Josh Barbarinde SUS-210605-144317001