Conservatives hold all Adur seats at West Sussex County Council election

The Conservatives have held all five seats across Adur at this week’s West Sussex County Council election.
West Sussex County Council elections were held on ThursdayWest Sussex County Council elections were held on Thursday
West Sussex County Council elections were held on Thursday

This was in contrast to what happened over in Worthing where Labour took five of nine seats on offer.

Kevin Boram was the only Adur county councillor standing for re-election and he was returned in Shoreham South.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He will be joined at County Hall by three Adur District Council executive members Emma Evans (Shoreham North), Carson Albury (Sompting and North Lancing) and Angus Dunn (Southwick).

Andy McGregor was elected in Lancing.

Although Labour did not pick up any seats they ran the Conservatives close in several seats.

Deborah Stainforth finished 166 votes behind in Shoreham North, while Catherine Arnold was even closer in Shoreham South, trailing by 127 votes.

Lee Cowen, Labour Group leader on Adur DC, said he was encouraged by how much the Labour vote had increased in all the five county divisions in his area despite the problems of campaigning in a pandemic and all the restrictions that meant.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He added: “We now have some very marginal divisions in what has never been natural Labour territory, and we still have our district councillors working hard for the residents of our area.”


Lancing: Lee Cowen (Labour) - 1203, Doris Martin (Lib Dem) - 264 Andy McGregor (Conservative) - 1632 - Elected, Russell Whiting (Green) - 243.

Shoreham North: Emma Evans (Conservative) - 1648 - Elected, Nico Kearns (Lib Dem) - 460, Deborah Stainforth (Labour) - 1482, Anne Younger (Green) - 364.

Shoreham South: Catherine Arnold (Labour) - 1544, Kevin Boram (Conservative) - 1671 - Elected, Leslie Groves-Williams (Green) - 906, Neville Pressley (Lib Dem) - 301.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Sompting & North Lancing: Carson Albury (Conservative) - 2009 - Elected, Lynn Finnigan (Green) - 301, Mike Glennon (For Britain) - 66, Cathy Glynn-Davies (Labour) - 745, Steve Male (Lib Dem) - 290.

Southwick: Angus Dunn (Conservative) - 1751- Elected, Steve Gilbert (Labour) - 1200, Patrick Ginnelly (Green) - 258, Ian Jones (Lib Dem) - 228.