Labour takes Peacehaven seat from Conservatives in council by-election

Labour has taken a Lewes District Council seat from the Conservatives at a by-election.

After Joe Miller stood down, a vacancy needed to be filled for the Peacehaven West ward.

The Conservatives won both of the ward’s seats back in 2019, but after voters went to the polls yesterday Labour’s Ciarron Clarkson was elected with 641 votes, ahead of Tory candidate Katie Sanderson (477). Lib Dem Elizabeth Lee and Green Holly Atkins both finished with 32 votes.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

The result will be seen as encouraging for Labour, which now has four district councillors. Chris Collier represents Peacehaven East, while Christine Robinson and Laurence O’Connor are councillors for East Saltdean and Telscombe Cliffs.

Ciarron Clarkson was elected in Peacehaven West

While the Conservatives remain the largest party at LDC with 18 seats, the administration has been run by a Cooperative Alliance since July 2019.

Ciarron said: ”I'm incredibly grateful the residents of Peacehaven West have lent me their vote after years of managed decline under the Conservatives. Now my Labour colleagues and I will work to deliver Peacehaven's fair share.”

Cllr Collier added: “The team are overjoyed with the result in Peacehaven West. This continues a trend that started with our district council wins in 2019 and continued last year when people gave their overwhelming support to win the Peacehaven and Telscombe divisions in the County Council elections.

“We’re absolutely committed to representing our communities, and residents have shown they have trust in us. They’ve seen us take on developers over the kind of town centre we all want, and fight to keep a proper library service.”

Lewes District Council offices, Southover House