Bowls: Two firsts and a second leave Aldingbourne jubilant

The outdoor bowls season is coming to an end, but we've got late-summer action from Aldingbourne, Crablands, Fishbourne, Southbourne, Witterings and Telepost this week.


Aldingbourne Bowls Club ended their season on a high, winning the men's division three in the LG League, the Brooks Trophy mixed triples league division two and finishing runners-up in the ladies' division one of the C&M League.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

They also won division four of the Sussex county centenary trophy, beating Chichester, and will now go to Preston Park to play in the semi-finals against the division-two winners.

The club's finals were played in glorious summer weather and enjoyed by a good crowd.

Results: Men's singles: Roy Wyatt beat Stan Hayter 21-15; Ladies' singles: Janet Heasman beat Jenny Hamilton 21-17; Mixed novices: Lynn Hathaway beat Derek Page 21-15; Champion of champions: Laurie Cunningham beat Sheila Carter 21-18; Zealous Cup: Laurie Cunningham beat Roy Wyatt 13-8; Men's pairs: Bill Everett & Matt Bonnar beat Fred Mulholland & Terry Watson 22-20; Ladies' pairs: Barbara West &

Elizabeth Taylor beat Jenny Robini & Ricki Norford 21-12; Mixed pairs: Alan Rust & Jenny Hamilton beat Stan & June Hayter 20-13; Drawn pairs: Bill Everett & Dave Anderson beat Janet Heasman & Jenny Robini 22-15; Triples: Dave Anderson, Jenny Hamilton & Marjorie Taylor beat Keith & Jenny Robini & Ann Holland 18-15; Mixed fours: Bill Everett, Jenny Hamilton, Resi Wiedenheoft & Alan Rust beat Martin and Margaret Kelly and Arthur & Jenny Cobbett.


Crablands 69 Walton-on-Thames 113

On their return game to Crablands, Walton gained revenge for an earlier defeat with a very decisive win.

Scores: C Lewendon, V Tyrrell, L Dray won 16-12, A Gilling, D Jones, Y Clifton lost 21-13, P Jones, L Lewendon, D Adams won 18-16, M Whittle, S Brooks, M Clements lost 22-8, L Carrie, B Whittle, R Osborn lost 16-10, P Osborn, R Shambrook, V Dudman lost 26-4.

* The last competition of the season was played on a nice sunny day with the members of Crablands enjoying the mixed fours Gales Trophy.

With more than 40 members taking part and some sharing the game, the runners-up were J Rawlins, D Muncey, M Whittle and S Howe and the winners, with a five-person rink, were A Humpreys, J Harman, L Tuck, D Jones, B Whittle.


Aldingbourne v Fishbourne

Fishbourne won only one rink, so there is plenty of room for more practice on this artificial surface.

Scores: D Humphreys, E Keane, P White won 19-10, S Wingate, G Evans, T Gaffney lost 23-15, M Beasley, K Ridley, P Green lost 23-7, D Green, J Wingate, K Burt lost 22-12, A Marsh, V Frost, B Cobie lost 38-7.

Fishbourne 97 Portsmouth Gas 104

Scores: K Makin, W White, T Gaffney lost 24-10, K Ridley, G Randall, B Wallsgrove won 19-16, D Humphreys, P Green, P Massey lost 25-12, J Summers, N Campbell, P White lost 16-13, S Lewis, G Summers, B Henham won 16-15, A Whitney, A Marsh, K Burt won 27-8.

Leigh Park 78 Fishbourne 79

Scores: D Humphreys, J Richards, B Wallsgrove won 22-17, M Faber, A Marsh, G Summers won 17-12, K Ridley, M Bleach, P White lost 21-13, T Bleach, J Heffer, T Gaffney won 18-12, J Summers, G Evans, M Howard lost 16-9.

Bognor 79 Fishbourne 74

Scores: C Martin, M Bleach, B Wallsgrove lost 19-15, S Wingate, N Campbell, L Kneale lost 19-9, G Evans, L Wingate, P Green lost 17-14, J Summers, A Marsh, P Massey won 15-12, T Bleach, G Summers, P White won 21-12.


The Ladies C & M Trophy League held their presentation afternoon at Arundel Bowls Club.

Attending the celebration were Tony Wright, of C&M Trophies and Diana Levantine of the Snowdrop Trust.

A fun afternoon was enjoyed by all the participants of the league '“ 17 bowls clubs.

Winners of division one were Chichester and second were Aldingbourne.

Winners in the second division were East Preston, runners-up Middleton, after an exciting finale.

The wooden spoon went to Shoreham Bowls Club. Arundel were the basement club in the first division.

There were two top-rink teams: section A was won by Chichester, made up of April Janman, Betty Spicer, Bridget Collins and Chris Hobbs; while section B was won by a mixed team from Chichester and Bognor of Margaret Phillips and Beryl Charlsworth from Bognor and Jean Hole and Mary Potter from Chichester.

The top rink prizes were cut-glass clocks.

Diana Levantine received a 100 cheque for the Snowdrop Trust.

The afternoon concluded with a raffle, and bouquets being presented by Tony Wright to the committee, Bobbie Bonnar (chairwoman), June Taffurelli (secretary) and Jenny Hamilton (treasurer).

The league presented sponsor Tony Wright with a framed photo of last year's presentation day.


Southbourne's finals day resulted in a number of very close-fought matches.

The men's singles were won by Antony Bull, who will be entered into next year's Sussex champion of champions competition.

The ladies' singles was won by Margaret Odell, who qualifies for the Sussex ladies' equivalent.

Southbourne v Bedhampton

In the final two matches of the season, Southbourne played away and home against Bedhampton in the Reflex League.

Away, Southbourne lost three and drew one triple, with one not played, losing 91-56.

At home, Southbourne gained revenge by winning all three triples, with two not played by Bedhampton. It finished 107-23 to Southbourne.

Scores: Away: I Jennings, A Williams, C Young lost 27-12; K Alner, D Young, C Soper lost 17-12; J Jennings, M Baylis, J Scorey lost 18-13; L Williams, W Coates, J A Lillywhite drew 19-19; Home: J Jennings, C Petchey, M Odell won 25-6; I Jennings, JA Lillywhite, D Moseley won 33-9; M Moseley, D Young, P Garrard won 29-8.

* The Soutbourne all-weather green remains open during the winter on Mondays for members of local clubs to play in the Polar Bears roll-up, which starts on October 12 at 10am.


The Greenkeepers Invitation Day at the Witterings & District Bowls Club this year was a putting competition.

The bowls club became the Witterings putting green for the day before all the hard work begins in getting the green put to bed for the winter.

Some 38 members of the club enjoyed a successful fun day.

Winner was Les Newman with Frank Bray a close second.

Greenkeeper Jim Slogrove and his helpers have worked hard this season on the green and their efforts have certainly paid off.


Telepost continued their good run at the end of the outdoor season.

Telepost regained the Arun Shield with an 86-70 win over Pagham, competed for by the two clubs who share Swansea Gardens rink.

Telepost also enjoyed a 66-64 win at RAFA.