Colin just misses magic hour mark

Three members of the Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club rode the Saturday afternoon Kingston Phoenix RC 10-mile time trial.

Although warm, it was a very windy afternoon and far from ideal for fast times.

Mark Winton finished equal sixth out of a total field of 91 in a time of 21 minutes and 47 seconds. Andy Cox took 23:44 and Spencer Coleman completed his ride in 24:55. Together they won the team prize as fastest three riders on aggregate. The event was won by Ray Hughes in 21:16.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Three Wanderers had also entered Sunday's Addiscombe CC 25-mile TT. It was another blustery day with an especially hard last section straight into a vicious headwind.

Winton (55:25) delivered another fine performance, finishing fifth out of a quality field. Colin Harris, the Wanderers' fastest veteran, was frustrated to miss the magic hour mark by a mere three seconds.

John Mankelow, who specialises in long distance racing, finished with 1:05:20. Michael Hutchinson, the UK's top time trialist of the last few years, won the event in 51:12.

With the late cancellation of the Wanderers' Circuit of Danehill event due to road works, most of the club's racers found themselves without an event to ride.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

There was therefore a good turnout on the various weekend club runs. Thirteen Lewes riders enjoyed a 45-mile hilly ride from Uckfield to Burwash and back, whilst other members took to their mountain bikes for a little fun off-road.

The Wanderers Evening Ten series starts on Tuesday, May 8; the 12-week long series is run on Monday evenings with the exception of the two May Bank Holidays, when the event switches to the Tuesday.

It is based at East Hoathly with the first rider off at 7:15pm.

For more info on the Lewes Wanderers visit

Related topics: