Cricket club has new chairman

Bexhill Cricket Club has a new chairman.

Martin Phillimore handed over the reins to Jeremy Wassell, which was always planned, during a very short and straight forward annual general meeting at Traffers Bar last Friday night.

Phillimore now becomes vice-chairman for a year or two. Hamish Russell takes over the running of the junior section from Steve Phillimore and Sarah Driver joins the committee.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Malcolm Johnson will continue as first team captain with Jack Richardson vice-captain. Neil Blatchly stays on as second team skipper and will be assisted by Alex Nichols.

Chris Kirkham becomes third team captain, while Derek Fuller and Martin Phillimore remain in charge of the fourths and fifths respectively.

Bexhill’s front side will be gunning for an instant return to the top flight of the Sussex Cricket League when it lines-up in Division Two during the 2013 campaign. Their last two seasons in the second tier have both yielded promotion in 2009 and 2011.

See tomorrow’s Bexhill Observer for the full article.