Southern Brave sign four key players for The Hundred

Southern Brave have confirmed the signing of four players for cricket’s new, action-packed competition The Hundred this summer, including Southern Vipers star Lauren Bell and Lancashire batsman Alex Davies.
Lauren BellLauren Bell
Lauren Bell

They are joined by Somerset’s Max Waller and former Western Storm and England international Sonia Odedra.

Southern Brave are one of eight new teams taking part in The Hundred, a new 100-ball competition that is designed to throw open cricket’s doors to everyone. Boasting world class men’s and women’s players, it will take place this summer and feature eight city-based teams from Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London. It will be screened live by Sky and the BBC.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Vipers star Bell recently earned a full-time contract after an incredibly impressive campaign and the 19-year-old is an exciting addition to The Hundred. A Hampshire local, starting out at Hungerford Cricket Club, she was part of the Vipers success in the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy last summer.

Red Rose academy graduate Alex Davies has solidified his role in an impressive Lancashire team, having an impressive Vitality Blast season. A dynamic batter and wicket-keeper, his skills will be on show for all to see this summer.

Lauren Bell said: “The Ageas Bowl is my home, so I’m really excited to be representing Southern Brave. We have some incredible talent in this team, with Anya Shrubsole, Danni Wyatt and Stafanie Taylor leading the way and local players showcasing their talent.

“The Hundred gives the women’s game an incredible platform and I can’t wait to get going and show that cricket is a game for women and girls to play and enjoy!”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Alex Davies said: “I’m a northerner at heart, but it’s an incredibly exciting challenge to play for Southern Brave. This team has some real firepower, and I look forward to being a part of it.

“We were delighted with how the draft went in 2019, keeping many of our star names, so we’re in a great position come the summer.”

More than 100 players have now confirmed for the highly anticipated competition with all of the eight city-based teams confirming signings today.

England Men’s internationals Jonny Bairstow and Tom Banton have committed to Welsh Fire while World Cup winner Jason Roy confirmed he will stay at London-based Oval Invincibles.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Manchester Originals have confirmed a number of world class players with South African duo Lizelle Lee and Mignon du Preez signing up, alongside the exciting talents of Phil Salt and Joe Clarke.

London Spirit have also made strides in securing their overseas signings with Pakistani quick bowler Mohammad Amir, and a pair of all-rounders with Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi and South Africa’s Chloe Tryon all due to represent the side at Lord’s.

The remaining retained men’s players will be announced on February 4 while the women’s squads will continue to be announced in the coming months.

Full list of signings announced today:

Birmingham Phoenix: Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Tom Helm, Benny Howell, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

London Spirit: Mohammad Amir, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Jade Dernbach, Danielle Gibson, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals: Joe Clarke, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Phil Salt

Northern Superchargers: Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Adam Lyth

Oval Invincibles: Megan Belt, Alex Blake, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rhianna Southby, Nathan Sowter

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Southern Brave: Lauren Bell, Alex Davies, Sonia Odedra, Max Waller

Trent Rockets: Kathryn Bryce, Matthew Carter, Abbey Freeborn, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney

Welsh Fire: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith

Related topics: