East Sussex Football League confirms over fifty sides for end-of-season competitions

More than 50 teams have entered the East Sussex Football League’s end-of-season tournament.

Action from Robertsbridge United against The JC Tackleway in 2019. Picture by Simon Newstead
Action from Robertsbridge United against The JC Tackleway in 2019. Picture by Simon Newstead

In all 51 sides will take part in what will be known as the April/May Competitions and only four teams from throughout the league’s six divisions haven’t entered.

There will be three separate competitions - one for sides in the Premier and Division One, another for clubs in Division Two and Three, and a third for Division Four and Five teams.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Each competition has been split into two groups. All teams will play seven matches - regardless of whether their group contains eight or nine teams - and the winners of each group will then contest a final.

With grassroots football permitted to resume from March 29, the action will begin on Easter Saturday (April 3) and the last group games will be played on Saturday May 8. Dates and venues for the finals are yet to be confirmed.

In view of the lengthy period of inactivity players have had over the winter months, teams will be permitted five roll on, roll off substitutes.

League fixture secretary Kevin Bray said: “We’re seeing this tournament as giving teams games of football. There’s seven games of football they’ve definitely got and if they’re lucky they get a final.

“We’ve not charged anyone to enter. We’re happy it’s all going to go ahead and hopefully the weather’s going to hold good for us.”

East Sussex Football League April/May Competitions line-up - Premier/Division One, group A: Battle Town, Bexhill AAC, Bexhill Town, Robertsbridge United, Sidley United II, South Coast Athletico, St Leonards Social, Wadhurst United.

Group B: Battle Town II, Crowhurst, Punnetts Town, Rock-a-Nore, Rye Town, Sedlescombe Rangers II, The JC Tackleway, Victoria Baptists.

Division Two/Three, group A: AFC Hollington, Catsfield, Hastings United Youth, Little Common II, Northiam 75 II, Old Town Lions, SC Pass + Move Arrows, St Leonards Social II, Westfield II.

Group B: Bexhill AAC II, Bexhill Rovers, Hampden Park, Hawkhurst United II, Herstmonceux, Mountfield United, Robertsbridge United II, Sandhurst, The JC Tackleway II.

Division Four/Five, group A: Hampden Park U23, Hastings Comets, Herstmonceux II, Hooe, Sedlescombe Rangers development, Sovereign Saints II, Wadhurst United II, Welcroft Park Rangers.

Group B: AFC Hollington II, Battle Town III, Icklesham Casuals, Magham Down, Orington, Parkfield, Ticehurst, Welcroft Park Rangers II, West Hill United.

As previously reported, the 2020/21 East Sussex League season was curtailed and declared null and void following months of inactivity due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Meanwhile, the league has received applications from three new teams, including one club not currently part of the league, to join next season.