Vote for your Blues player of the year

We want your votes for The News Pompey player of the season.

Gabor Gyepes has been an impressive figure in the centre of the Pompey defence this season
Gabor Gyepes has been an impressive figure in the centre of the Pompey defence this season

And when all the votes are tallied, you could be picked out to present the award to the winner on the pitch at Fratton Park.

Blues greats like Mark Hateley, Guy Whittingham, Steve Claridge and David James have all won the prestigious trophy in the past.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

And Jason Pearce added his name to the list after being named last season’s popular winner.

Now we want your choice for the Blues’ best player during a difficult 2012-13 campaign.

We’ve teamed up with Pompey to offer one lucky reader two tickets and the chance to hand over the trophy to the player who comes out on top before Pompey’s final home match of the season against Sheffield United on April 20.

Everyone who casts a vote will be put into the competition draw to win the fantastic opportunity.

There are two ways to vote – by text message or by filling out the form in The News..

To enter by text, simply send a text message starting with pen player, the surname of the player you are voting for plus your name, house number (or house name) and postcode to 61500.

The total message must not exceed 155 characters.

All text messages cost £1 plus standard network charge. The closing date for entries is midnight on April 17, 2013.

Messages received after the closing date will not be counted but may still be charged. You can vote as many times as you like.

Example of message: pen player bradbury john smith 1 ab1 23cd

To vote by post, fill in the form which can be found on the Pompey pages in The News and send it to: Pompey Player of the Season, Sports Desk, The News Centre, Hilsea, Portsmouth, PO2 PSX.

Votes must be on a form cut from The News – photocopies will not be accepted.

We must receive entries by midnight on April 17, 2013.