Goodwood season is into the final furlong - preview and tips

GOODWOOD stages its penultimate race meeting of the season on Wednesday.

Richard Hannon has had 14 Goodwood winners so far this season / Picture by Malcolm Wells
Richard Hannon has had 14 Goodwood winners so far this season / Picture by Malcolm Wells

A card of seven contests takes place, including a five furlong sprint and a class-two race over a mile-and-a-half.

It will be a final chance but one for jockeys and trainers to make their bids to be crowned Goodwood’s top operators for 2015.

At present Richard Hannon is again leading the way in the race for the Dick Hern Trophy, awarded to the trainer with the most Goodwood wins over the year.

And Frankie Dettori has whittled down the now-retired Richard Hughes’ lead in the jockeys’ standings – helped by a terrific Qatar Goodwood Festival, when he had six winners.

Full standings are below.

The card is as follows: 2pm British Stallion Studs EBF Maiden Stakes, 2.35 EBF Stallions Maiden Stakes, 3.10pm Caterers Day Stakes, 3.45pm Front Events Foundation Stakes listed race, 4.20pm Universal Meats Chicken Stakes, 4.55pm Bidvest FoodService Stakes, 5.25pm Goodwood Ale Apprentice Stakes.

Our tips: 2.00 Tadaawol, 2.35 Long Call, 3.10 Callendula, 3.45 Basem, 4.20 Castle Combe, 4.55 Perfect Pastime, 5.25 Threave.

After Wednesday’s meeting, Goodwood’s last fixture will be the season finale on Sunday, October 11.

2015 wins at Goodwood


Richard Hughes 10

Frankie Dettori 6

Jim Crowley 5

Cam Hardie 5

Adam Kirby 4

Franny Norton 4

Pat Cosgrave 4

Pat Dobbs 4

James Doyle 4

Silvestre de Sousa 4

Joe Fanning 4

Harry Bentley 4

Andrea Atzeni 4

Frederik Tylicki 3

Dane O’Neill 2

Shane Kelly 2

George Baker 2

Martin Lane 2

Martin Dwyer 2

William Twiston-Davies 2

William Buick 2

Richard Kingscote 2

Daniel Tudhope 2

Chris Catlin

Sean Levey

Ryan Moore

Paddy Pilley

Edward Greatrex

Luke Morris

Graham Lee

Nicky Mackay

Jimmy Fortune

Simon Walker

Charles Bishop

Tom Marquand

Jenny Powell

Neil Farley

Joseph O’Brien

Maxime Guyon

Charlie Bennett

Jamie Spencer

Paul Hanagan

Gregory Benoist

Olivier Peslier

Wayne Lordan

Ryan Clark

Kevin Stott

William Carson

George Chaloner

Gerald Mosse

Sammy Jo Bell

Michael J Murphy

Miss C Robinson

Fergus Sweeney

Adam Beschizza

Callum Shepherd

(116 races up to and inc Sep 1 - 56 jockeys)


Richard Hannon 14

Mark Johnston 10

Mick Channon 4

George Baker 4

William Haggas 4

Hughie Morrison 3

Charlie Appleby 3

Roger Varian 3

Ian Williams 3

Marcus Tregoning 3

Andrew Balding 2

David Simcock 2

Roger Charlton 2

Amanda Perrett 2

Luca Cumani 2

James Fanshawe 2

John Gosden 2

Robert Eddery 2

Hugo Palmer 2

Ralph Beckett 2

David O’Meara 2

Chris Gordon 2

Richard Fahey 2

Denis Coakley

Sir Mark Prescott

Eve Johnson Houghton

Sylvester Kirk

James Tate

John Gallagher

Milton Bradley

Saeed bin Suroor

Dean Ivory

Luke Dace

Ed Dunlop

Tim Jarvis

William Knight

William Muir

Patrick Chamings

Henry Candy

Gary Moore

Eric Alston

Nigel Twiston-Davies

Aidan O’Brien

Freddy Head

Tom Dascombe

Michel Bell

Jassim Al Ghazali

Francoise Rohaut

Marco Botti

Sir Michael Stoute

David Wachman

Charlie Hills

Jonathan Portman

Brian Meehan

Harry Dunlop

John Bridger

Jane Chapple-Hyam

Clive Cox

William Jarvis

Brendan Powell

Jo Crowley

Michael Attwater

(116 races up to and inc Sep 1 - 62 trainers)

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking sports news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

Do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out