Kennett back for the Eagles

MAGHAM Down's Edward Kennett is returning to the Eastboune Eagles's team for the remainder of the season.

The 19-year-old will share the doubling up position in the team with Andrew Moore, who joined Mildenhall a fortnight ago.

Kennett last rode for the Eagles in 2004 and is a product of the junior training track. He enjoyed a successful 2005 doubling with rivals Poole but was, to most British speedway fans's disappointment, not racing in the Elite League this season.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Promoter Jon Cook said: 'I know how delighted everyone at the club will be. Edward and I had hoped that this move may be possible come our first averages in June and Andrew's decision has meant we could bring these plans forward. We looked at fixtures and Ed can ride in more matches, particularly at home, than we could have hoped.'

Nicki Pedersen is poised to return for tomorrow's match against Reading Bulldogs at Arlington (7.30pm) start.

An injury sustained in last weekend's Swedish Grand Prix round ruled him out of engagements in Poland and Sweden as well as Eagles's trip to Ipswich's Foxhall Heath stadium last night (Thursday).

The Eagles were beaten at Reading's Smallmead arena last Monday as the bang-in-form Bulldogs continued their quest to occupy the upper reaches of the Elite League table with a 61-34 victory. It will be a much-changed Reading side that travels to Sussex. American Greg Hancock, Slovenian Matej Zagar and Polish reserve Janusz Kolodziej, who achieved 35 points (paid 38) of their 61-point tally, will be absent.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Hancock and Zagar are on international duty in World Team Cup engagements and Kolodziej picked up a collarbone injury while riding for his Polish league club Unia Tarnow at the weekend.

Eagles: 1 David Norris, 2 Edward Kennett, 3 Dean Barker, 4 rider replacement for Adam Shields, 5 Nicki Pedersen, 6 Cameron Woodward, 7 Lewis Bridger.

Bulldogs: 1 Hans Andersen (guest for Greg Hancock), 2 rider replacement for Matej Zagar 3 Andy Smith, 4 Travis McGowan, 5 Charlie Gjedde, 6 Zdenek Simota, 7 Chris Mills.

Related topics: