Marlins delighted to pick up winners trophy for the first time

The Dolphins and Starfish sections of Mid Sussex Marlins hosted an exciting Disability Swimming gala at The Triangle in Burgess Hill, generously supported by both Marlins and Places for People Leisure.
The Dolphins and Marlins at th Disability galaThe Dolphins and Marlins at th Disability gala
The Dolphins and Marlins at th Disability gala

There were many fine performances during the evening and when team points were averaged out, Marlins were delighted to win the Overall Winners trophy for the first time. The Runners Up trophy went to Seahorses, closely followed by Sussex Squids and the brave lone swimmer from Bexhill.

Every competitor achieved at least one individual medal but Marlins’ swimmers Kate Bentley and Richard Sambrook excelled with four gold medals each plus the Top Senior trophies. Also from Marlins, Angel Knott won the Top Junior Female trophy while Reuben Kerr and Louis Moyes shared the Top Junior Male trophy, all three producing superb personal best times (PBs). Meanwhile determined swimming from Matilda Barrowman (Marlins) and Christian Grantham (Seahorses) was rewarded with the Special Achievement trophies.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Will Forrest, Paddy Phillips, Robbie Rix and Thornley Thomas-Aitkin all gained spectacular PBs of over 10 seconds! Sophie Battams, Annie Lacey and Michael Menezes reduced times in all their races and some good PBs were also achieved by Tyler Clifton, Christopher Lovejoy, Alfie Penfold, Josh Savva, George Snashall, Kieren Stevens, Samantha Swindell and Dan Telling.

Swimming against tough competition, Fabienne Andre and David Fawdrey continue to chip away at their times. Amongst the older seniors, Stephen Bayliss, John Viccari and Steven Wade reduced their times in the backstroke event while the youngest swimmer Matthew Neil, took off over two seconds in his first taste of competition.

Emma Van Drongelen showed a pleasing return to fitness and together with Pat Hough, Jacky Jones, Peter McCleery and Reece Meyer, contributed valuable points to the winning team.

Many thanks to the volunteers and hearty congratulations to all the swimmers!