Solo sailors are not alone in Dell Quay's fine sailing year

Dell Quay Sailing Club held their annual prizegiving ceremony after a superb supper.

Presenting the awards were Peter King, the club’s rear-commodore, and his wife Hilary.

With the absence of the club’s top two Solo sailors from much of the racing this year, many more members were able to collect trophies than in previous years.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

This has been one of the best years so far for the Solo fleet, which picked up 11 of the 21 trophies awarded, with Dave Maltby and Roger Puttock each collecting three and veteran racer Gordon Barclay taking a further two.

Not to be outdone by the Solos, Andrew Buchanan and Sue Manning each picked up two awards in the handicap fleet.

In addition to the winners of individual and series races, there were also awards for individual achievement. Lizzie Kies was awarded the Commodore’s Cup for her performance in the West Sussex youth regatta.

Another individual achievement award is the Mary Ross Trophy, awarded to the highest-placed lady helm in the Early and Late Helm series. For the second year running it went to Nikki Buchanan.

As well as the formal races, a number of contests were run during the year on Fun Fridays – family evenings dedicated to just having fun on the water and include a number of fun races.

First place overall in these races went to Bruce Dupee, with Derek Poole second and Hilary and Gareth Sparkes third.

DQSC starts its winter Frostbite Series this Saturday, December 3, at 12.15pm and it is open to all. Details can be found at under hosted open meetings.

Full list of winners: Jack Lewis Trophy: Rob Corfield; Single Handed Trophy: Roger Puttock; President’s Trophy: Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer; Palmer Goblet: Andrew Buchanan; Hitch Trophy: Gordon Barclay; Barclay Egg Trophy: Roger Puttock; Alarm Clock: Dave Maltby; Carriage Clock: Chris Wood; Martell Challenge Trophy: Roger Francis; Williams Trophy: Dave Maltby; Commodore’s Cup: Lizzie Kies; Victor Cook Trophy: Dave Maltby; Market Cross Salver: Andrew Buchanan; Farwell Trophy: Sue Manning; Fortune Trophy: Mike Shaw; Handicap Trophy: Gordon Barclay; Horace Gordon Trophy: Roger Francis; Fred Taylor Trophy: Gordon Barclay; Mary Ross Trophy: Nikki Buchanan; Noyce Memorial Trophy: Roger Puttock; winning helms; Herbert Ward Trophy: Bill Dawber; non-winning helms; Bransbury Williams Trophy: John Purdy; Munnery Award: Henry Bettle.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking sports news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be among the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

Share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!