Eagles riders to be at full throttle for Sussex Champs

Eastbourne IT First Eagles are set to be involved in a “dog eat dog” speedway clash on Sunday at their Arlington stadium.

Eastbourne Eagles
Eastbourne Eagles

All the home riders will be bidding to be crowned the Champion of Sussex, although there are eight other riders on parade who will want to spoil their party.

Eastbourne go into this 16-rider, 20-heat individual meeting on the back of winning home and away against Kent over Easter.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Club chairman, Martin Dugard, said: “That was the best possible start to the new era. Two victories in four days and Eastbourne winning away for the first time since June 2012 couldn’t get much better.

“We want to keep the momentum going and ensure the team get plenty of competitive track time because there are certainly harder matches ahead in the National League.”

The Championship of Sussex is an individual meeting with a long history, although stagings have been infrequent in recent years.

Dugard himself twice took the title and when it was last held in 2013, Bjarne Pedersen ran out winner.

“It is hard to pick out a winner of these events. All it takes is one poor ride, a fall or engine failure and a highly-fancied rider can be out of contention.

“A number of boys have the ability to string together a series of wins. They will need to do that on Sunday, just as they will in the National League battles,” Dugard said.

The Champion of Sussex will win an iPad. Second prize is a Pegasus gift voucher £50 + 5 litres of Duck Smart. Third prize is Pegasus Speed Needs gift voucher £30 + 5 litres of Duck Smart. Fourth prize is 2 x Dugard Clutch Cables + 2 bottles of Duck Smart.

Line up (not in riding order):

1 David Mason

2 Richard Andrews

3 Marc Owen

4 Bradley Wilson-Dean

5 Danny Warwick

6 Georgie Wood

7 Kelsey Dugard

8 Niall Strudwick

9 Charley Powell

10 Nick Laurence

11 Dawid Witawowski

12 Tyler Govier

13 Danny Ayres

14 Aaron Baseby

15 Adam Sheppard

16 Sam Darroch

17 Meeting Reserve Sam Heath

The Championship of Sussex on Sunday, April 12, begins at 3.30pm. Turnstiles open at 2pm with the car park opening at 1.30pm.

The event marks the return of regular Sunday afternoon speedway to Sussex.