Trebles are tops in Bognor darts league

Bognor Friday Night Summer League's divisional trebles knockouts took place at the Newtown Social Club with an excellent turnout of 26 teams '“ only one short of the summer record.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on items purchased through this article, but that does not affect our editorial judgement.

Division-one winners Derrick Longhurst, Richard Ragless and Buster BartonDivision-one winners Derrick Longhurst, Richard Ragless and Buster Barton
Division-one winners Derrick Longhurst, Richard Ragless and Buster Barton

The division-three semi-finals saw Emma Bist, Adam Judd and Michelle Skeites (The Station) beat Steve Reynolds (ASC), Len Dixey & Les Mullinger (Royal Oak) and Adam Hall, Ben Lubbe and Alex Richardson (The Station) defeat Rob Allen and Ashley and Debbie Clements (New Jacks).

In the final Richardson ended the first leg needing double one. The second leg was taken by Judd with double four.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The last leg saw a close game with Hall, Lubbe and Richardson just in the lead. Judd’s double ten took the leg and gave Bist, Judd and Skeites the division-three title.

Division two’s semi-finals saw Peter Hall, Derek Mitchell and Janet Ayres (Chi Snooker ‘A’) go out to Gary Bryant, Jason McVite and Tom O’Sullivan (Claremont Wanderers) and Dave Stone, Nathan Warren and Joe Osman (BRSA Wanderers) get the better of Bridgett Derwojed, Tim McCarthy and Guy Watson (Friary ‘C’).

In the final’s first leg, McVite missed a chance, letting Osman take the first leg in two darts.

The second leg was ended by Bryant scoring 56 in two darts.

The last leg was close and with 90 on the board, O’Sullivan stepped up, hitting the bullseye with his first dart, then double ten with his third to take the match, giving Bryant, McVite and O’Sullivan the title for division two.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In division one, the semis saw Graham Clear, Mark Sheppard and Andy Stubbs (Hunston Hares) beat Luke Forden, Dave Juniper and Chris Williams (QE2 Cobras) and Ben Todd, Mark H Todd and Bradley Marshall (BRSA Ravens) lose to Richard Ragless, Derrick Longhurst and Buster Barton (Squash Club).

In the first leg of the final, Stubbs needed 82 but missed double top for the win. Ragless stepped up and in two darts took the first leg for the Squash Club.

The second leg was also close. Stubbs had a chance at 96, but his last dart missed double 18. It was Barton’s turn with 20 on the board, and in two darts the double was hit, making Ragless, Longhurst and Barton division-one champions.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking sports news where you live.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be among the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

Share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

Related topics: