Sussex star Rag'n'Bone Man confirms release date for second album

Brighton star Rag'n'Bone Man has confirmed he will be releasing his second album Life By Misadventure on April 23.

Rag'n'Bone Man
Rag'n'Bone Man

In the meantime, Rag'n'Bone Man, originally from Uckfield, is releasing a new single, All You Ever Wanted.

Life By Misadventure is the follow-up to 2017's Human, which in addition to hitting the number-one spot on the UK album charts on release, became the fastest-selling album by a male artist for the entire decade. It's now turned four-times platinum and earned him BRIT and Ivor Novello Awards.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Spokeswoman Jenny Entwistle said: “Rag‘n’Bone Man returns three years after his ground-breaking, award-winning debut, Human, with a renewed sense of purpose, on a sparkling new album, full of heart and soul. Life By Misadventure is an incredible collection of emotional songs to touch us when we need it most.

“First single All You Ever Wanted is propelled by choppy rhythm guitars and a restlessness we’re all currently feeling.”

Rory Graham, aka Rag‘n’Bone Man, explains: “I’d felt sad looking around Brighton and London where I grew up… remembering all those cool places that aren’t there anymore.”

Jenny added: “His 2017 landmark debut Human was a phenomenal success.

“If that’s a hard act to follow, Rag‘n’Bone Man tore up the rule book and went to Nashville to write and record what would become Life By Misadventure, returning to the UK just before the pandemic first erupted.

“While a dose of heavy blues and soul lives within some of these new tunes, the majority of this new album finds Rag‘n’Bone Man taking a huge step forward as an artist, a songwriter, and a singer capable of showcasing tremendous warmth and real emotion with every breath.

“The bulk of the album was produced and recorded by Grammy Award-winning producer and multi-instrumentalist Mike Elizondo (Eminem, 50 Cent, Fiona Apple, Alanis Morissette) at his studio just outside Nashville.

“The album has been recorded purposefully like a live album – the sound is real and 100 per cent human. Long-time collaborators Ben Jackson-Cook (keys, co-songwriter and co-producer of the album), Bill Banwell (bass and co-songwriter) and Desri Ramus (backing vocals) are joined by drummer Daru Jones (Lazaretto-Jack White) and guitarist Wendy Melvoin who joined Prince’s Revolution at the age of 19.

“Together these musicians have made an album full of joy and immediacy, something all too rare these days of autotune and countless overdubs. One song was even recorded in Rag‘n’Bone Man’s garage.

“Life By Misadventure is the perfect tonic for these times. An album of depth and soul, about growing up and moving forward. Enjoy the trip.”

Life By Misadventure tracklisting:

1. Fireflies

2. Breath In Me

3. Fall In Love Again

4. Talking To Myself

5. Anywhere Away From Here

6. Alone

7. Crossfire

8. All You Ever Wanted

9. Changing of the Guard

10. Somewhere Along The Way

11. Time Will Only Tell

12. Lightyears

13. Party’s Over

14. Old Habits